Prenatal Education

Prenatal Education

For over 60 years Mothercraft Ottawa’s Prenatal Classes have helped parents gain confidence as they approach the birth of their child.

Our Prenatal Education Program offers expectant parents a comprehensive overview of prenatal, birth and postpartum choices based on best practices and recommendations made by Health Canada, the Canadian Pediatric Society and other credible sources.

How to Register

Please contact Genevieve Chabot at 613-728-1839 ext. 289

* Please note pre-registration is required.

OEYC

Need more information about the program?

Smiling African woman touching her partner's pregnant belly

Designed for the third trimester of pregnancy, our comprehensive series of classes covers:

  • Comfort measures for each stage and phase of labour and delivery;
  • Relaxation and breathing techniques;
  • Postpartum adjustments;
  • Feeding and basic newborn care;
  • Life as a new family;
  • Community resources.

Labour and Delivery

  • Basic physiology and anatomy of birth
  • Signs, symptoms and coping  strategies for each stage and phase of labour
  • Comfort measures and medical pain relief options
  • Hands on practice for moms and partners
  • Induction/augmentation options
  • Assisted deliveries

Post Birth Adjustments

  • Mom and baby post birth procedures
  • Mom’s postpartum body
  • Postpartum mood disorders
  • Breastfeeding basics
  • Baby at home-care and safety   basics
  • Family adjustments
  • Community resources

2018 CLASS SCHEDULE

  • Sunday, October 28
  • Sunday, December 9

2019 CLASS SCHEDULE

  • Saturday, January 26
  • Sunday, February 24
  • Saturday, March 23
  • Sunday, April 28
  • Sunday, May 26
  • Saturday, June 22
  • Sunday, July 28
  • Saturday, August 24
  • Saturday, September 28
  • Sunday, October 27
  • Sunday, December 15
pregnant-women